Why not register?

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2007 12:04 am  Post subject: Networking

The Ancient One
Its got too cold now so I've brought the other PC in here & decided to have a go at networking. :o

The XP PC is wired into the router, the Vista is wireless. I was told I didnt need anything else to network them together but as I've never done it before I decided to go buy an RJ45 lead & linked them through spare ethernet ports.
I've paired up the IPs, finally linked them & added some shared files.

My question is... why is it that when I transfer a file from the Vista PC to the XP PC its as fast as moving from HDD to HDD yet when I'm trying to tranfer the other way its as slow as moving from a pen drive?

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:59 pm  Post subject:

The Ancient One
Both PCs are connected to the router using patch cables, aren't they? Did you copy the same thing in both directions?

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2007 8:03 pm  Post subject:

Site Admin
I'm guessing providing your using a switch or crossover, its simply because vista is better.

I'll elaborate by just saying ipv6 + a "fuck tonne" of optimisations:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Vi ... chnologies
Vista is a hell of a lot faster at negotiating transfers, I've seen this on all my machines.

I imagine vista when establishing the connection is a lot more efficient than when xp is establishing a connection to vista.

Have you also installed IPv6 on XP? Its not there by default but you can add it.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2007 9:19 pm  Post subject:

The Ancient One
I've never done this before so I bought a crossover cable & plugged 1 end into each PC thus eliminating the router at least that was the plan.

I turned off the ipv6 on the Vista network.